LOGIN WITH YOUR NATIONAL LIBRARY BARCODE NUMBER
The National Library of Australia has a wide range of databases and offers free membership to Australian residents. The Library will mail out membership cards. Have the card sent to your home or guardian's address in Australia - they will not mail cards overseas. After you join you will be able to access the following databases:
China Academic Journals (Web)
China National Knowledge Infrastructure: This resource indexes thousands of research level Chinese language periodicals published in the People's Republic of China. Areas covered include economics, politics, law, humanities, engineering science, agriculture, medicine, and electronics.
China Core Newspaper Database
China National Knowledge Infrastructure: This resource provides access to the full text of selected articles in over 700 Chinese language newspapers published in the People's Republic of China.
China Data Online
China Data Centre: A comprehensive online database focusing on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the provincial, county, and city level, and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches. Also includes statistical yearbooks, census data, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China.
China Infobank
Zhongguo zi xun hang (guo ji) you xian gong si: China Infobank provides full-text access to up-to-date political and economic news of China, business and legal information.
China Reference Works Online
China National Knowledge Infrastructure: An online collection of current reference books in Chinese language
Apabi Chinese Ebook Collection
The Chinese ebook Collection is a selection of Chinese language full-text electronic books. Subjects covered include modern Chinese history, Chinese studies, economics, politics, literature and statistics. Users can search using Chinese characters or romanised letters (Pinyin). The books are presented as facsimile images of the original print version. Please note you cannot print pages from the e-book directly, but it is possible to cut and paste text into other applications such as Word. REGISTERED USERS OUTSIDE THE LIBRARY WILL HAVE TO DOWNLOAD THE APABI READER, LINK IS LOCATED ON THE E-BOOK PAGE. REMOTE ACCESS, CLICK ON THE - IP User Login - RIGHT TOP CORNER ON THE E-BOOK PAGE.
Chinamaxx digital libraries
Chinamaxx E-books database covers a variety of subject areas in Social Sciences and Humanities on China Studies. Contains over 780,000 Chinese titles.
Xin Fang Zhi = China Local Gazetteers
China local gazetteers currently contains over 20,000 volumes of Chinese chorographic books, covering 31 provinces and autonomous regions. The database provides detailed geographic and historical records of provinces, prefectures, cities, and smaller district administration units. Available for document delivery to Australian libraries.
The contents cover historical as well as contemporary facts related to the geographical areas, concerning general surveys, economy, public finance, governance, public security, urban and rural development, agriculture, industry, transportation, business, natural science, social science, education, culture and sports, public health, etc
CLICK HERE TO BROWSE THE ASIAN STUDY E-RESOURCE COLLECTION FOR OTHER DATABASES AND WEBSITES THAT MAY BE USEFUL.
