Scholarly journals (also called periodicals) publish research for academics and are a good source of current information. Journal titles are listed in library catalogues but the articles in the journals are not. They are indexed in library databases.
Some databases index all subjects while others are subject specific. Search the databases which suit your topic. Databases can be full text or citation (bibliographic/abstract). The full text of a journal article can be retrieved by clicking on the full text icon. If only a citation is given, ask a librarian and we will try and get the full text of the article for you. In the State Library databases click on the SFX button to find out how to locate full text.
Some databases also contain full text articles from other sources such as government reports, magazines, newspapers and conferences.
LOGIN WITH YOUR STATE LIBRARY BARCODE NUMBER
International Index to Performing Arts Full Text 1864-
Index with some full-text. Wide subject coverage: dance, film, drama, television, the arts and entertainment industry, stagecraft, magic, musical theatre and performance art.
THE FOLLOWING MULTI SUBJECT DATABASES INCLUDE SOME THEATRE ARTS CONTENT
Periodicals Index Online (PCI)
Indexes numerous theatre studies journals with coverage from the 18th century to 1996
Informit Complete
Indexes Australian magazines, journals and newspapers on a wide range of topics. Includes some full-text.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive
Full-text digitised back issues of important journals covering all subjects from the first issue (some as early as 1700). Currency of the articles varies, with most within 1 to 5 years of the current issue. You can restrict your search to theatre journals by ticking the Performing Arts box.
Proquest 5000
Select the ‘Academic Research Library’ which contains some theatre (mainly American) journals.
OmniFile Full Text Mega Art Abstracts (Wilson)
Huge full-text database covering education, science, humanities, social sciences, business and general interest. International coverage, some Australian material.
Academic Search Premier and MasterFile Premier (EBSCO)
Full text for over 5000 journals (from 1975 onwards), reference books, photos and maps. Includes some peer-reviewed titles. Wide subject range - international coverage, some Australian material.
Wilson 1984
Information on arts, crafts, architecture, photography, fashion, textiles, film, television studies and more. Index coverage from 1984 and abstract coverage from January 1994
Includes biographies about people involved in Contemporary Theatre
LOGIN WITH YOUR NATIONAL LIBRARY BARCODE NUMBER
National Library of Australia has a wide range of databases and offers free membership to Australian residents. The Library will mail out membership cards.Have the card sent to your home or guardian's address in Australia - they will not mail cards overseas.
