LibGuides: IB History: Spanish Civil War

Scanned Journal Article

Graham, Helen "The Spanish Civil War"
Article from "The Historical Journal", 30, 4 (1987), pp.989-993.

Specialised Information in Online Databases

Use the online databases to find articles from journals. Start with JSTOR through the State Library, and then try the other State Library databases which are listed in the box.

Also make sure that you search the GGS subscription database: Gale World History in Context.

LibraryWebsites

Guernica...the Spanish War
The circumstances that led to the Spanish Civil War had been developing for years. In 1923, a coup d'etat had established General Miguel Primo de Rivera as virtual dictator of Spain, though King Alfonzo XIII remained the royal figurehead. But by 1930, growing opposition to de Rivera's right-wing government led to his resignation. The following year, popular elections threw out the monarchist government and forced the abdication of King Alfonso XIII.

Books in the Reference Collection in the Fisher Library

Europe Since 1914 by eds. J. Merriman & J. Winter
Call Number: R 940.503 EUR
Volume 4: 2416-2423
(Also available online through the Gale World History database.)

For an overview of your topic use the encyclopedias in the Reference Collection.The following three books provide summaries of the Spanish Civil War:

History in Dispute

Viewpoint essays on the topics below can be found in the History in Dispute series which is kept in the Reference section. The series is also available online through the Gale World History database.

"Should the West have intervened on the side of the Republicans in the Spanish Civil War?" (Volume 4: 223-231)

"Was the Spanish Civil War a struggle to safeguard democracy from the threat of fascist tyranny." (Volume 17: 234-242)