LibGuides: IB History: The Marshall Plan

Websites

The "Marshall Plan" speech at Harvard University, 5 June 1947
(Primary source) This speech by George Marshall initiated the post-war European Aid Program commonly known as the Marshall Plan.

Books in the Fisher Library

Many of the texts on the Cold War in the library include some coverage of the Marshall Plan. The Cold War books listed below are those which cover the Marshall Plan in more detail.

The Cold War by Gaddis, J.L.
Call Number: 909.82 GAD
Gaddis, a professor of history at Yale University, is considered the dean of Cold War historians by the New York Times. (Use the index to find relevant sections.)
The origins of the Cold War 1941-1949 by McCauley, M.
Call Number: 327.47073 MACC
See page 87f and use the index.
America, Russia, and the cold war, 1945-1980 by LaFeber, Walter
Call Number: 327.47073 LAF
LaFeber examines both American and Russian foreign policy motivations. Use the index to find relevant sections.
The Cold War : conflict in Europe and Asia by Phillips, Steve
Call Number: 327.47073 PHI
Easy text which explains key terms.
A preponderance of power : national security, the Truman administration and the Cold War by Leffler, Melvyn P.
Call Number: 327.73 LEF
More detailed than some of the other texts.
George F. Kennan and the making of American foreign policy : 1947-1950 by Miscamble, G.F.
Call Number: 327.73 MIS
'Kennan was an American adviser, diplomat, political scientist, and historian, best known as "the father of containment" and as a key figure in the emergence of the Cold War.'
'Miscamble offers fresh interprettions and a new sense of the context in which policy was made and of the complex influences on the policymakers.'

Books in the Reference Collection in the Fisher Library

Europe Since 1914 by eds. J. Merriman & J. Winter
Call Number: R 940.503 EUR
Volume 3: 1727-1731.Outlines the context, scope, reactions and effects of the Marshall Plan.(This is also available online through the Gale World History database).

For an overview of your topic use the encyclopedias in the Reference Collection.The following book provides a summary of the Marshall Plan:

History in Dispute

Viewpoint essays on the topic below can be found in the History in Dispute series which is kept in the Reference section. The series is also available online through the Gale World History database.

"What were the true motivations behind the Marshall Plan?" Volume 1: 173-179.

Specialised Information in Online Databases

Use the online databases to find articles from journals. Start with JSTOR through the State Library, and then try the other State Library databases which are listed in the box.

Also make sure that you search the GGS subscription database: Gale World History in Context.