LibGuides: IB History: Course of WWII (Dresden Bombing, Battle of Stalingrad)

Non-Fiction Books in the Fisher Library

Stalingrad by Beevor, A.
Call Number: 940.54 BEE
The Great Fatherland War / the Soviet Union in World War II by Gottfried, Ted
Call Number: 940.5347 GOT
Includes a chapter on Stalingrad.
World War II by Willmott, Messenger & Cross
Call Number: 940.54 WIL
ISBN: 9780756629687
Illustrated with pictures, maps, timelines this book gives a clear chronological account of the course of the war. Useful in the planning stages of your essay.
The Real History of World War II : a New Look at the Past. by Axelrod, Alan
Call Number: 940.53 AXE
ISBN: 9781402740909
This book is set out in an easy to read style and would be useful in the planning stages of your essay.

Books in the Reference Collection in the Fisher Library

Europe Since 1914 by eds. J. Merriman & J. Winter
Call Number: R 940.503 EUR
Battle of Stalingrad - Volume 4: 2446-2448;Harris, Arthur (Chief of RAF Bomber Command 1942-1945) Volume 3: 1305-6.
(Also available online through the Gale World History in Context database.)

For an overview of your topic start with the encyclopedias in the Reference Collection.

Gale encyclopedia of world history : war
Call Number: Q 355.003 GAL
Battle of Stalingrad - Volume 2: 659-662.

Specialised Information in Online Databases

Use the online databases to find articles from journals. Start with JSTOR through the State Library, and then try the other State Library databases which are listed in the box.

Also make sure that you search the GGS subscription database: Gale World History in Context.