Scholarly journals (also called periodicals) publish research for academics and are a good source of current information. Journal titles are listed in library catalogues but the articles in the journals are not. They are indexed in library databases.
Some databases index all subjects while others are subject specific. Search the databases which suit your topic. Databases can be full text or citation (bibliographic/abstract). The full text of a journal article can be retrieved by clicking on the full text icon. If only a citation is given, ask a librarian and we will try and get the full text of the article for you. In the State Library databases click on the SFX button to find out how to locate full text.
Some databases also contain full text articles from other sources such as government reports, conferences, newspapers and magazines.
LOGIN WITH YOUR STATE LIBRARY BARCODE NUMBER
The State Library subscribes to databases containing thousands of journal and newspaper articles.
SEARCH THESE DATABASES SEPARATELY AS THEY ARE NOT INCLUDED IN THE MULTISEARCH.
Australian Art Auction Records Online This resource lists art auction sale results for Australian and New Zealand artists, from the early 1970s to the present time.
Carter's Price Guide to Antiques and Collectables This resource contains detailed descriptions, price ranges, and photographs of thousands of items from all over Australia and New Zealand. The online database includes items added in the last five years, and is regularly updated.
Proquest Art and Architecture Archive A full text archive of key research journals in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late nineteenth century to 2005. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals 1934– Indexes journal articles on interior design and decoration as well as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, and historic preservation. Article dates range from 1934 to current, with selective coverage back to 1741. Compiled by the Getty Research Institute. (THIS DATABASE IS NOT FULL TEXT.)
Wilson Art Abstracts 1984– Information on arts, crafts, architecture, photography, fashion, textiles, film, television studies and more. Index coverage from 1984 and abstract coverage from January 1994. (Some full text))
