IB Language and Literature: National Library

 LOGIN WITH YOUR NATIONAL LIBRARY BARCODE NUMBER

National Library of Australia has a wide range of databases and offers free membership to Australian residents. The Library will mail out membership cards.Have the card sent to your home or guardian's address in Australia - they will not mail cards overseas.

Early English Books Online
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700, from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. EEBO contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Also available on microfilm at mfm 790 in the Newspapers and Microforms Reading Room. Available for document delivery to Australian libraries.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Contains the full text of over 180,000 English and non-English language titles and editions published between 1701-1800. Is based on The English Short Title Catalogue, and the holdings of the British Library, as well as over 1,500 university, private and public libraries worldwide. It is divided into seven subject areas: history and geography; social science and fine arts; medicine, science and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; reference. Also available on microfilm in the Newspapers and Microforms Reading Room. Available for document delivery to Australian libraries.

Click here to browse the other literature databases available through the National  Library. The list also includes recommended websites.