LibGuides: Year 8: Geography Terms 1 & 3

Mountains - Books in the Library

Mountains
Call Number: 551.432 CHA
Mountains by Peter Aleshire; Geoffrey H. Nash (Foreword by)
Call Number: 551.432 CHA

There are many books in the library about mountains. Browse the shelves at 551.432.

Deserts - Books in the Library

Twenty four hours desert
Call Number: 577.54 HAL
Deserts
Call Number: 577.54 GAN

There are many books in the library about deserts. Browse the shelves at 577.54.

Coasts - Books in the Library

Along the Coasts by Renato Massa; Neil F. Davenport (Translator)
Call Number: 577.51 MAS
Coasts by Melanie Waldron
Call Number: 577.51 WAL

There are several books in the library about coasts. Browse the shelves at 577.51

Volcanoes: Geography Lesson

This animation needs Flash. If you don't have Flash go to the BBC website for the non-interactive version.

What is a Volcano?

What Effects do Volcanoes Have?

Volcano Database - from the Smithsonian Institute

Volcano database
""Volcanoes of the World" is a database describing the physical characteristics of Holocene volcanoes and their eruptions. This search returns a list which may be filtered based on a volcano name, volcano type, features, evidence of recent activity, location (set using a map), country, rock types, population within various distance ranges, or the availability of images....." (website)
Global Volcanism Program
See the Home Page of the program for a list of volcanoes showing current activity and a weekly report of volcanic activity.

Earthquakes 101 - from the National Geographic webite

Earthquakes 101

Map of Earthquakes & Volcanoes from Smithsonian Institute

This Dynamic Planet
World Map of Volcanoes, Earthquakes, Impact Craters, and Plate Tectonics.
Click on the image and then use the hand to zoom in on a region.

Comparison of Earthquakes

Comparison of notable earthquakes in the past 25 years.

Tsunamis - Animation from the BBC

Animated guide: Tsunamis

This animation needs Flash. If you don't have Flash click on the link above to go the BBC website for the non-interactive version.

Tsunami - Videoclip from the ABC

What huge forces cause tsunamis?
"Discover what powerful force triggers a tsunami. In this clip you will see the damage caused by tsunami, and find out why it occurred. Learn about what is happening on the ocean floor and the connection between tsunamis, earthquakes, volcanoes and tectonic plates. See how a warning centre is working to keep people safe from tsunamis." (ABC, Behind the News, 2 November 2010)
more...less...
3 mins 57 secs

Ring of Fire - Videoclip from the ABC

Ring of Fire - Videoclip from the ABC
"Imagine living in the part of the world known as the 'Ring of Fire'. In this clip you will discover where the Ring of Fire is and how it affects the millions of people who live there. View animations to understand what is happening deep below the Earth's surface. See the damage and destruction caused by a tsunami in Samoa." (ABC, Behind the News, 13 October 2009)

Volcanoes - Books in the Library

Volcanoes by Timothy Kusky
Call Number: 551.21 KUS
Volcanoes of the World by John Cleare
Call Number: 551.21 MACG

There are many books in the library about volcanoes. Browse the shelves at 551.21

Volcanoes - Websites

List of volcanoes in Australia
From Wikipedia.
Volcanoes
The National Geographic Website
GSCE Bitesize - Volcanoes

Tsunami Information Centre

International Tsunami Information Centre
Jointly managed by the IOC and UNESCO the organisation provides information about tsunamis, includes a list of past tsunamis, maps and online booklets, three of which can be directly accessed below.

Tsunami, The Great Waves
Online booklet which includes information about tsunamis, and advice for those caught in one.
Where the First Wave Arrives in Minutes
This is a booklet published by UNESCO which draws survival lessons from eyewitness accounts of the tsunami of December 26, 2004 in Aceh, and of the July 17, 2006 tsunami on the south coast of Java.
Surviving a Tsunami - Lessons from Chile, Hawaii, and Japan
Online booklet which gives examples of actions that saved lives, and actions that cost lives, as recounted by eyewitnesses to the tsunami from the largest earthquake ever measured -- the magnitude 9.5 earthquake in Chile on May 22, 1960.

Click on the first link to open the PDF in English

Australian Government Geosceince - Tsunamis

Australian Government Geoscience - Tsunamis
Includes information about tsunamis, animations, research reports etc.

Australian Government Resources

Australian Geography Resources

Geoscience Australia has provided a wealth of quality material for students and teachers about many aspects

of Australian geography, Material includes fact sheets, maps, cut-out models, posters, landform dimensions, interactive

quizzes, and astronomical information.

Year 8: Geography Terms 1 & 3