Cambridge dictionaries online This web site offers searchable access to a number of Cambridge University Press dictionaries.
Dictionary.com Free online English dictionary, thesaurus and reference guide. Sources include: American heritage dictionary of the English language, Webster's revised unabridged dictionary, CIA world factbook, U.S. gazetteer ...
Digital dictionaries of South Asia A collaborative effort to widen access to South Asian language dictionaries. Established dictionaries for over thirty modern literary languages of South Asia will be mounted on the Web for free and open access. Languages to be covered, in alphabetical order, are: Assamese, Baluchi, Bengali, Dhivehi, Dogri, English, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Maithili, Malayalam, Manipuri, ...
Lexicool
Comprehensive directory of bilingual and multilingual dictionaries. The site has a fully searchable database with over 2000 titles referenced.
Macmillan online dictionary : free English dictionary and thesaurus (Latest edition ; updated regularly)
This web site offers free searchable access to Macmillan English dictionary and Thesaurus. Options are to search for definitions, pronunciation, spelling, synonyms and word of the day.
Merriam-Webster online
Merriam-Webster provides a free, on-line dictionary (with audio pronunciations) and thesaurus.
OneLook
Web site providing easy, quick word searches in a wide range of on-line dictionaries. Options are to search for English definitions only or to choose French, Spanish, Italian or German. The search results also contain links to the home page of the indexed dictionaries themselves. Includes link to reverse dictionary feature which lets you describe a concept and get back a list of words and phrases ...
OneLook reverse dictionary
Online dictionary which allows user to describe a concept and get back a list of words and phrases related to that concept.
Reference desk
This resource from American Association for the Acvancement of Science provides links to glossaries, dictionaries and databases in several scientific disciplines.
Search Roget's II :the new thesaurus
This 3rd edition of Roget's II contains 35,000 synonyms and over 250,000 cross-references. The thesaurus features word definitions and a hyperlinked category index.
yourDictionary.com
Directory of on-line dictionaries for over 200 languages. Includes both general and specialized dictionaries. Also provides access to sign language dictionaries, as well as grammar and linguistic resources.
