Skip to Main Content

Topic 3 - Scientific Ideas: Scientists

Useful Online Resources

World Book Online This link opens in a new window
Britannica This link opens in a new window

Aristotle (Greek Scientist)

Aristotle
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Aristotle
World History Encyclopedia
Top 10 Contributions of Aristotle

Erastothones (Greek Scientist)

Plato (Greek Scientist)

Plato
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Plato Philosophy, Life & Contributions | Who is Plato?
Plato | Life, Philosophy, & Works | Britannica

Pythagoras (Greek Scientist)

Pythagoras
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Pythagoras - World History Encyclopedia
Pythagoras | Biography, Philosophy, & Facts - Britannica

Ibn al-Haythem (Islamic Golden Age)

Ibn al-Haytham's scientific method - UNESCO
Ibn al-Haytham (965 - 1039) - Biography
Ibn Al-Haytham: Father of Modern Optics
National Library of Medicine
Ibn al-Haytham | Arab astronomer and mathematician

Leonardo Da Vinci (Renaissance Scientist)

Galileo Galilei (Renaissance Scientist)

Francis Bacon (Scientific Revolution/Age of Discovery)

Bacon, Francis | Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Francis Bacon
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Francis Bacon - Philosophy, Facts & Accomplishments

Robert Boyle (Scientific Revolution/Age of Discovery)

Tycho Brahe (Scientific Revolution/Age of Discovery)

Nicolas Copernicus (Scientific Revolution/Age of Discovery)

Nicolas Copernicus
From Britannica Encyclopedia
Nicolaus Copernicus
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Nicolaus Copernicus
Copernicus was a Polish astronomer and mathematician whose theory that the Earth moved around the Sun profoundly altered later workers' view of the universe, but was rejected by the Catholic church.
Nicolaus Copernicus Biography: Facts & Discoveries

Rene Descartes (Scientific Revolution/Age of Discovery)

Descartes' Life and Works
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Rene Descartes | Biography, Ideas, Philosophy, 'I Think ...
René Descartes : By Individual Philosopher : Philosophy

Johannes Kepler (Scientific Revolution/Age of Discovery)

Johannes Kepler
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Johannes Kepler - Biography, Facts and Pictures
Johannes Kepler - The Galileo Project | Science
Johannes Kepler: His Life, His Laws and Times - NASA

Isaac Newton (Scientific Revolution/Age of Discovery)

Isaac Newton
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Isaac Newton: Who He Was, Why Apples Are Falling
National Geographic
Isaac Newton | Biography, Facts, Discoveries, Laws ...
Sir Isaac Newton - StarChild - NASA

Andreas Vesalius (Scientific Revolution/Age of Discovery)