LibGuides: IB Visual Arts: Reference Resources

State Library Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

LOGIN WITH YOUR STATE LIBRARY BARCODE NUMBER

Oxford Art Online
Includes full text drawn from 'Grove Art Online', 'The Oxford Companion to Western Art', 'Encyclopedia of Aesthetics' and 'The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms'. Covers western and non-western art, architecture, decorative arts and photography.

Oxford Reference Online Premium

Extensive collection of online reference books, encyclopaedias and dictionaries covering the arts, business and management, humanities and social sciences. Includes:

The Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists
A Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture
The Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists (4th ed)
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms (2nd ed)
The Oxford Dictionary of Art (3rd ed)
A Dictionary of Modern Design
A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art (2nd ed)
The Oxford Companion to the Photograph
The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
The Oxford Companion to Western Art

Blackwell Reference Online

Extensive collection of online reference books, encyclopaedias and dictionaries covering a vast range of subjects. Includes:

A Companion to Art Theory,
A Companion to Medieval Art

A Companion to Asian Art and Architecture
A Companion to Rock Art

Art Reference Books in the Fisher Library

The following is a selection of books available in the Fisher Library reference section. Others can be found by browsing the R 700's - R 709's. They are not for loan.

Aboriginal artists of the Western Desert : a biographical dictionary by Johnson, Vivien
Call Number: 759.994 JOH
The art book by Butler, Adam
Call Number: Q 703 ART
Art deco complete : the definitive guide to the decorative arts of the 1920s and 1930s by Duncan, Alastair
Call Number: Q 709.04012 DUN
Art galleries of the world by Langdon, Helen.
Call Number: 708 LAN
Art now : 137 artists at the rise of the new millennium (2 vols.) by Grosenick, Uta.
Call Number: 709.05 ART
Art of Australia : Exploration to Federation by McDonald, John
Call Number: Q 709.94 MACD
Beyond Sacred: Recent painting from Australia's remote aboriginal communities : the collection of Colin and Elizabeth Laverty
Call Number: Q 704.039915 BEY
The Collins big book of art by eds Iain Zaczek & David G. Wilkins
Call Number: Q 709 COL
A directory of Australian art by Crawford, Ashley
Call Number: 709.94025 CRA
The new McCulloch's encyclopedia of Australian art by McCulloch, Alan,
Call Number: Q 709.9403 MACC
The Oxford companion to Aboriginal art and culture by Kleinert, Sylvia.
Call Number: 700.899915 OXF
World art : the essential illustrated history by ed. Robert Belton
Call Number: Q 709 WOR
A world history of art by Honour, Hugh
Call Number: Q 709 HON