LibGuides: IB Theatre Arts: Online Databases

Online Reference Books: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

LOGIN WITH YOUR STATE LIBRARY BARCODE NUMBER.

Blackwell Reference Online E-Books

Extensive collection of online reference books, encyclopaedias and dictionaries covering the arts, business and management, humanities and social sciences.You can either search the entire collection by clicking on the Blackwell link above or search individual e-books by clicking on the titles below. (contents pages are on the left of the screen)
A Companion toTragedy
Tragedy in Transition
A Companion to Modern British and Irish Drama

A Concise Companion to Contemporary British and Irish Drama
A Companion to Twentieth-Century American Drama
A Companion to Restoration Drama
A Companion to Shakespeare and Performance

Oxford Reference Online Premium E-Books
Extensive collection of online reference books, encyclopaedias and dictionaries covering a vast range of subjects. You can either search the entire collection by clicking on the Oxford link above or clicking on the e-book titles below.(contents headings are below the book description)
The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare
An A-Z Guide to Shakespeare
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance
The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre
The Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century Theatre
The Oxford Dictionary of Plays

E- Book
Contemporary theatre, film and television
Biographical and career information on people working in the contemporary entertainment industry including performers, choreographers, directors, technicians, writers, composers, producers, executives, designers, critics and more.

Multi Subject Databases - Journal articles, news etc.

LOGIN WITH YOUR STATE LIBRARY BARCODE NUMBER

You can search all of the databases at once (Click on the logo above and then click Search the catalogue and then Select Articles from the drop down box )
or you can search the databases individually.

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive
Full-text digitised back issues of important journals covering all subjects, including biology, from the first issue. Currency of the articles varies, with most within 1 to 5 years of the current issue. Before you start your search select the disciplines that you wish to search from the list below the search boxes eg Performing Arts.
General OneFile 1980- (Gale)
Full-text news and journal articles on a wide range of topics across all subjects. Includes selected encyclopaedias. Broad range with mainly international coverage and some Australian material.
EBSCOhost
Full text for over 5000 journals (from 1975 onwards), reference books, photos and maps. Includes some peer-reviewed titles. Wide subject range, including science and technology, with both international coverage and some Australian material.
Periodicals Index Online
Periodicals Index Online is a database of millions of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years. (NOTE: this database does not include full text articles.)

Journal articles, artefacts, visual materials etc

SEARCH THESE DATABASES SEPARATELY AS THEY ARE NOT INCLUDED IN THE MULTISEARCH.

LOGIN WITH YOUR STATE LIBRARY BARCODE NUMBER

Proquest Database - Journal Articles
International Index to Performing Arts Full Text 1864–
Index with some full text. Wide subject coverage: dance, film, drama, television, the arts and entertainment industry, stagecraft, magic, musical theatre and performance art.

Victorian Popular Culture 1779–1930s Four collections of full text sources comprising:

Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema.
Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment.
Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks.
Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic.

Multi Subject Databases - Reference , Journal Articles, Newspapers etc.

GGS
Databases

Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window
Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Out of school access: Go to ONLINE database page on the main LibGuide and
click on the LINK at the top for home access passwords.
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre This link opens in a new window

National Library Databases

LOGIN WITH YOUR NATIONAL LIBRARY BARCODE NUMBER
National Library of Australia has a wide range of databases and offers free membership to Australian residents. The Library will mail out membership cards to Australian addresses.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online. British theatre, music and literature : high and popular culture
Select the database: British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture.
This database features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. These rare documents, many of them never before available, were sourced from the British Library and other renowned institutions, and curated by experts in British arts history.
British periodicals online collections I and II
Consists of periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s. Topics covered include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Project Muse
Project MUSE provides online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts,and social sciences journals. Includes some theatre titles.
AustLit: The Resource for Australian Literature
Australian literature database which includes some performing arts journals. Mainly bibliographic database but some full full text.