Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

IB Theatre Arts: IB Theatre Arts

Theatre Art for IB

  Introduction

Use encyclopedias listed in the Reference boxes under the BOOKS and  ONLINE DATABASES tabs above to locate background information about your topic and biographical information about actors, directors etc. Use dictionaries  to find defintions or explanations of words and concepts. Do not cite  Wikipedia in your assignments.

Search the journal article databases listed under the  ONLINE DATABASES tab to locate specific information. For example: particular aspects of theatre arts, reviews of theatre performances, and news of current events.   Journal articles are a good source of both current and historic information.

WEBSITES Google is useful for finding certain types of information such as government reports, official statistics, TV and radio transcripts.  Use the advanced search screen to locate specific sorts of information. Use Google Scholar to search for academic books, working papers and journal articles as a supplement to searching the databases on the Journal Articles' page. Some suggested websites are listed on this page.

BOOKS  Use books to find comprehensive coverage of theatre, its history and related content, as well as in-depth biographies of well-known actors, directors and playwrights. Start your search for books in the Fisher Library. If you cannot find the book on the shelf ask the library staff for help. For some topics you will need to get books from other libraries. The BOOKS  page tells you how to join other libraries and how to get an inter-library loan.

Use the NEWS page to search for current and older newspapers. See the Newspaper page on the Australian History Guide if you need to access older  Australian newspapers.

                                                                  -------------------------------------------

If you find a citation or an abstract to a journal article on either a database or Google  and you want to see the full text of the article, ask the library staff and we will try to access it for you.

For further assistance ask the library staff in the Fisher Library. Also use the Ask a Librarian services listed at the bottom of this page.

  Extended Essays from Previous Years

Copies of all GGS students’ extended essays are kept in the library. They have been catalogued and can be searched on the library catalogue by entering the keywords extended essay. To narrow the search, enter the subject as well (ie extended essay theatre) Please ask at the library desk if you would like to see these. Selected essays have been scanned and are available - see the box below.

Essays from the IBO Excellent Essays CD's are also available on this page.

A Grade Theatre Studies Current Style Extended Essays