Scholarly journals (also called periodicals) publish research for academics and are a good source of current information. Journal titles are listed in library catalogues but the articles in the journals are not. They are indexed in library databases.
Some databases index all subjects while others are subject specific. Search the databases which suit your topic. Databases can be full text or citation (bibliographic/abstract). The full text of a journal article can be retrieved by clicking on the full text icon. If only a citation is given, ask a librarian and we will try and get the full text of the article for you.
Some databases also contain full text articles from other sources such as government reports, conferences, newspapers and magazines.
LOGIN WITH YOUR STATE LIBRARY BARCODE NUMBER
You can search all of the State Library's databases at once or individually below. Click here for instructions as to how to search all the databases at once.
ARTbibliographies Modern
Indexes all aspects of art, design and photography of the 20th century.
Informit Complete
Indexes Australian magazines, journals and newspapers on a wide range of topics. Includes some full-text . Useful for articles related to Australian art and artists. Select the APA FT database under ART.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive
Full-text digitised back issues of important journals covering all subjects from the first issue (some as early as 1700). Currency of the articles varies, with most within 1 to 5 years of the current issue.
Proquest 5000
Select the ‘Academic Research Library’ which contains some art (mainly American) journals.
OmniFile Full Text Mega Art Abstracts (Wilson)
Huge full-text database covering education, science, humanities, social sciences, business and general interest. International coverage, some Australian material.
Academic Search Premier and MasterFile Premier (EBSCO)
Full text for over 5000 journals (from 1975 onwards), reference books, photos and maps. Includes some peer-reviewed titles. Wide subject range - international coverage, some Australian material.
Wilson 1984
Information on arts, crafts, architecture, photography, fashion, textiles, film, television studies and more. Index coverage from 1984 and abstract coverage from January 1994
PASSWORDS FOR ACCESS OUT OF SCHOOL ARE ON THE LEARNING TAB ON BLACKBOARD
Click on the logo to go the database.
