Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

IB History: IB History

History resources for IB

  Introduction

This guide is designed to help you find resources for IB History and the extended essay. 

Use encyclopedias and dictionaries on the REFERENCE BOOKS and the  ONLINE DATABASE  pages to locate background information about your topic and to find definitions or explanations of words and concepts. (Don't use Wikipedia for definitions)

Use the  ONLINE DATABASES page to locate  reference resources, journal articles, newspaper articles etc. Journal articles contain specialised information and current information on specific topics.  Journals are usually the first place that information is published so they are a good source of current information.  Note that these databases may also include book chapters, conference proceedings and government reports.

WEBSITES Google is useful for finding certain types of information such as government reports, official statistics, TV and radio transcripts.  Use the advanced search screen to locate specific sorts of information. Use Google Scholar to search for academic books, working papers and journal articles as a supplement to searching the databases on the Online Databases page. Some recommended websites are listed on this page.

Start your search for BOOKS  in the Fisher Library.  You will need books from other libraries for many topics . The BOOKS page tells you how to join other libraries and how to get an inter-library loan.

 .........................................................................................

If you find a citation or an abstract to a journal article on either a database or Google /Scholar and you wish to see the full text of the article, ask a librarian and we will try to access it for you.

If your topic relates to  Australian history use the Australian History Guide.

For further assistance ask a librarian in the Fisher Library. Also use the Ask a Librarian services listed at the bottom of this page.

Searching Trove - the National Library database

Search Trove for books, articles, images etc.

Ask Lee Allen  (leea@ggs.vic.edu.au) in the Fisher Library if you wish to order an inter-library loan.

  Extended Essays from Previous Years

Copies of all GGS students’ extended essays are kept in the library. They have been catalogued and can be searched on the library catalogue by entering the keywords extended essay. To narrow the search, enter the subject as well. (eg.  extended essay history ) Please ask at the library desk if you would like to see these.

Selected essays have been scanned and are available through the library catalogue and below.

A Grade History Current Style Extended Essays